top of page

In Preparation for Shane Dawson's Episode 2: A Review



In preparation for Episode 2 of Shane Dawson’s new series coming out tomorrow, let’s look back at Episode 1. What did we learn? What did we think? What can we expect going forward?


So let’s start off with the elephant in the room. There was a disclaimer at the beginning of the video that everything in this series is “Real” and “Unstaged.” Do we believe that? I do. But the only reason that I do was explained very subtly in the video itself. The things that they don’t want us to see, they won’t be recorded. The things that don’t follow the story that they are trying to tell will never see the camera. So yes, I do believe that everything being shown in these videos is real and unstaged. The videos will most definitely just be edited to show us what they want to, so they don’t have to stage anything.


Sound familiar? Yes. This is the crux of every single reality show there ever was. Remember like a week ago when Kim and Kendall got laughed at because they said they are a real and unscripted? Well, there you have it. It may be unscripted, but you’re definitely not telling the whole story, and you’re definitely filming only the scenes of your life that you want to show. So, it makes it easier to be “real” and “unscripted.” Editing works wonders. (*cough* Instagram, anyone? *cough*)


Do I think that some of these things will be blown up for the sake of the storyline? Yea. Do you care though? Isn’t that what people are looking for? Personally, I want the beauty manufacturing insight, but that’s just me. Drama sells, and they will spoon feed you that drama.


So, this video starts off as a video with the sole purpose of documenting Shane releasing a makeup product. This is the documentation and story. And to those of you that are saying nothing happened in this video, I’d beg to differ. I’d say we got the first look into what being in the beauty industry is all about. This video gave us the behind-the-scenes look at the launches that we all never knew we needed. So, is it wrong that you expected more from this video? Absolutely not. You wanted something different? Well, lovely people, we still have many more episodes to go. I can almost guarantee you guys that we are going to get more, and that we are going to get what you’re looking for.


There’s more than meets the eye with this first episode, though. I’m shocked that he even did this, but he’s painting Jeffree and his entourage in this whole “Mafia” light. This is strange to me but enticing. I can see the similarities that he’s picking out. Does Jeffree really run his team like that? Are we going to see more into what Shane means about feeling like he's with the mob? Is it only because he has a security guard? lol


Another huge question: why does everyone have to wear Jeffree merch? And why does Shane have to wear Jeffree merch this entire series? That's strange to me. Is that strange to you? It kind of should be, honestly. Like maybe this is all one big ad? I'd hate if that were the case. Poor Shane has no idea if that is the case, I'm sure.


Last thing on this topic, what’s with him editing in Jeffree’s blank stares? I don’t know how I feel about those edits. Are we actually seeing a little bit into the actual life of Jeffree? There were teasers about the loneliness in the preview and even in the beginning of the episode with the word ‘beautiful’ being changed up to a couple other words, such as lonely. Are we going to see more of this? I’m definitely intrigued.



Another big point that was being made in this episode is the anxiety and insecurity of some average Joe being involved in the beauty community. “He’s busted the house.” Lol. What does that even mean? I’m with Shane on this one. But honestly, I would be just as anxious being thrown into this beauty community. These people rip each other apart. I can stand tall in the science community and be the boss bitch everyone knows and loves, but this beauty community will eat your soul. It’s scary. Hell, maybe that’s why this is being released in the month of October? Because it’s a horror movie waiting to happen. Especially waiting to see what happened during Dramaggedon 2.0, I think shit is going to hit the fan. Imagine not having the Kim K waist and the Kylie ass, and Jeffree Star flair and trying to impress people in the makeup community while also being taken seriously. I imagine it's near impossible.


I do have to say that Shane has a way with editing. This man can edit anything to look amazing, or scary, or make us feel what he’s feeling in the moment. Take, for example, the 15-minute build up to a plane ride from one end of Cali to the other end of Cali. That took skill to make us feel something in that 15 minutes with as some people said, “nothing happening.” Could I have lived without that? Yes. Did I watch it anyway? Yes.


But here’s where my expertise comes in a bit. The cost of goods. Jeffree becomes timid. The people around him are timid. You’re going to be fucking shook when you hear these costs of goods. My background isn’t in cosmetics. This is why I don’t have a good feel for what these costs are going to be, but I CANNOT wait to hear. The industries I’ve worked in, the costs of certain goods were crazy low compared to retail pricing. You’ll be absolutely shocked, and I really hope that they give us these numbers. Like imagine a $50 eyeshadow pallet that have 10 shadows in it. Each shadow costs $5 (a little less because we are also buying packaging, but let’s just say $5 for the hell of it. What if they come out and tell us that the cost to them for each shadow is $0.25? Like what is the beauty community going to do if your customer’s find this out? It would be shocking, and everyone would RAGE. I really hope that they give us these figures.


But am I impressed with this first episode? Yes. Whole-heartedly yes. As I said in my previous post on this series, I want to look at the beauty community behind-the-scenes. I want the product development. I want the financials. I want it all. These things are kept under such lock-and-key in this industry that I want these two to rip the curtain off that bad boy. The beauty community is going to implode, and I can’t wait.


Until next time… P.O.B.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page