top of page

Our Fearless Paranormal Investigator: A Review of the AmysCrypt Channel

Ok, picture this. There’s a hunting lodge from the 1700s that is said to be cursed. A cultish sounding “Club” began meeting at this lodge once it was abandoned. This is called the Dublin Hellfire Club. Not sure if any of you have heard of it, but I haven’t. I stay far away from these things—it’s terrifying.


But anyway, keep picturing.

This club allegedly practiced Satanism at this lodge. There was debauchery and not the good kind going down in this lodge. One man even left the lodge after seeing what the club practiced and went insane immediately. He couldn’t even recall his own name. He was a goner. Imagine the terror you must endure to lose it like that. There were apparently human sacrifices that occurred in this building. The building was allegedly set on fire so the “King of Hell” could feel more like he was in Hell. I mean, wtf?


Sorry… still picturing here.


Now, imagine this lodge being down this long hiking path at the top of a hill. Imagine the long windy pathways that lead up to a place like this. Imagine a forest that even has creepy looking trees, and a secret tunnel leading to I don’t even know what (I don’t want to know if I’m being honest). Imagine walking through this creepy lodge in the pure daylight. Knowing the things that happened at this very site. Imagine damaged, weather-torn stone walls. Imagine eerie, what looks like cramped rooms. Imagine narrow staircases. Imagine an old castle-type structure.


What do you do? You probably feel a chill racing along your spine. You’re probably feeling a bit uncomfortable standing in the site of what may have been human sacrifices. You’re probably slightly unsettled at even the thought of standing in the same site that such horrible things happened that it drove a man insane enough to forget his own name.


So you’re in that spot. You would usually walk out of the building and never come back. I mean that’s what I would do. I’ve seen it in the bright and innocent light of day. Been there, done that. I’m done. Right?


This girl, Amy? What does she do? She says that she needs to come back at night to do a paranormal investigation.


That’s what this channel is. It is your doorway into seeing and experiencing things that you may never be brave enough to do on your own. And it’s creepy. And it’s good.


So our fearless leader Amy went back to this place at night, and just seeing the terrain they had to cross to get back to the building had me experiencing anxiety for her. You have one flashlight and a camera. Who says that you’re even pointing the flashlight in the right direction? What if there’s someone or something else out there in the darkness, and you just don’t know because you aren’t pointing the FREAKING FLASHLIGHT in the right direction????


I thought this while watching the Hoia Baicu Forest video, also. Spoiler alert: there’s footsteps in the background that Amy catches at one point. And like there’s almost no chance you’re going to choose the right direction to point that flashlight. Your odds are like super slim in a huge, darker than night, forest.


I must give it to her. She honestly makes high quality, professional-looking content. But more than that. This girl has steel balls. I should mention that she has who I think is her boyfriend with her who is shooting everything. But still… paranormal activity? No one’s saving you from that, honey. Just ain’t happening.


Where things start to get really creepy (and strangely enough, one of my favorite portions of her videos) is when she does these spirit boxes. Look it up (or hey, just go watch her channel), but basically, it is said that you can communicate with spirits through the radio when the channels are scanned quickly. Does she hear things? Yes. And does it scare me every time? Yes. And do I listen even closer to the next five times it’s played just to confirm that’s what some spirit said? You got it! Yes!


It’s not only creepy, but it’s entertaining too. Amy definitely does a great job of storytelling and bringing you into the situations with her. But it’s more than that, I think.


She’s not trying to shove paranormal down your throat. It may sound like that this far into the review, but honestly, she almost tries to explain the paranormal away more often than not. She will give you evidence of something that may be paranormal in origin, and then she explains why it could be a coincidence. Then she does what she does best, she leaves you with the question, “What do you think?” For example, there was a light anomaly in one of her videos. It looked like it could have been dust in front of the camera. But it may not have been. But Amy reshows this light anomaly, then asks you to tell her what you think.


At points, I wanted to scream through the screen, “Tell me if it’s real or not! I need to know!” But I think that’s what makes it all just a tad bit creepier too. She’s the professional on this topic, and she’s letting us form our own opinions. The mind can then start to race. Then you start imagining. Then you put yourself in her position. And we’re back at square one. See how I did that?


I do have to state too that the banter between who I think is her boyfriend, Jarad, and her was hysterical. I found myself laughing at some creepy times because of the banter between them two. Jarad is a nice addition to the videos, to lighten up the mood sometimes when it gets super heavy.


Overall, I would absolutely recommend this channel to those who aren’t afraid of 1) paranormal activity, 2) the dark, and 3) letting your mind wander. Oh hell, go check it out anyway. It's October, just sleep with the light on!


Check back next Thursday for your next creepy-themed channel review. (Btw, having a blast reviewing these scary channels actually. I know, *gasp,* based on the last one, I'm sure you guys thought I wasn't even going to be able to do the next review. So let's see how I'm doing for the next post). Also as a side note, I’d like to thank @YouTubesHorror1 for this recommendation. Great recommendation!


Ratings:

Channel Rating: 5/5

Scary Rating: 15/5

Content Rating: Not family friendly but rated for those of you that are into scary. I also don't feel it's mature content. It's just scary, but still doable for those of you over 12-13ish. (At least for the ones I came across).


Creator Links/Socials:

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiEK-SwMjiYsiWzXvOKqKdg

Twitter: @amyscrypt

Insta: @amyscrypt

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page